Get to know the Tourism Staff: Heather

Heather is a recent graduate for Vancouver Island University’s Bachelor of Business Administration program. Heather was born and raised in Nanaimo and considers herself a true Nanaimoite through and through! We asked Heather some questions about her home town and here are her answers:

Heather_Picture.jpg


Q1: In your opinion, what is Nanaimo’s best kept secret?

This is a tough one! I think Nanaimo is its own best kept secret with numerous hidden natural wonders and a cool urban city centre. It definitely is a destination that has something for every type of traveler. Locals and visitors can do almost anything they can think of, whether you want to climb a mountain, go deep sea diving, shop in the Old City Quarter or dance the night away. And that’s in the span of one day!

nightlife

Nanaimo Night Life (credit: Shayd Johnson)

Q2: What is one place/event/activity in Nanaimo that you have not participated in but would love to one day?

There are two big things I would love to cross off my Nanaimo bucket list. The first is to hike Mt. Benson.  Every year I put this on my summer adventure list and have yet to cross it off. But it’s out on the Internet now so I have to do it this year right!?

Tourism Nanaimo Water Bottle - Full Res-WEB.jpg

Summit of Benson (credit: Tom Parker)

The second is to take a catamaran tour. Growing up my family had a sailboat and I loved nothing more than to go explore the coast of Vancouver Island, so it would be great as an adult to get back to that. I think there is something quite glamorous about catamarans, maybe it’s the idea of lounging on the netting while sailing the ocean.

VancouverIsland_Nanaimo_CatamaranTour-03752

Sailing away on a Catamaran (credit: Chris Istace)

Q3: If a visitor was only in Nanaimo for one day, what would you recommend they must see?

Nanaimo is the harbor city so I would always suggest heading downtown to walk the harbor front. It’s absolutely beautiful and one of my favourite places to spend an afternoon. You can hang out in Maffeo Sutton Park, then say hi to Frank Ney (his statue of course) and thank him for bringing the bathtub races to Nanaimo. Then stroll over to one of the incredible eateries along the water and finish it off with some ice cream (Tiger Tiger is my go to).

icecream.jpg

Enjoy an ice cream on the waterfront (credit: Instagram)

Q4: What is the most interesting/surprising thing you’ve learned about Nanaimo since working for Tourism Nanaimo?

I have been fortunate enough to work in the Bastion building downtown, giving me the opportunity to learn all about its history along with that of our fair city. I remember covering this information in elementary school but I didn’t appreciate it then. The Bastion is the oldest building in Nanaimo and happens to be the oldest free-standing HBC building in North America. I have to say, my favourite fun fact is the Bastion was once used a temporary jail to house ‘sailors who were indulging at the shrine of the jolly god’.

Credit: Laurence Ourac